It's that time of the year again; the appointment of our new Head Boy and Head Girl. Following a rigorous selection and interview process, we are delighted to announce that our Head Boy is Joe Guerin, and our Head Girl is Yasmin Costello. Deputy Head Boys are Ben Porter and Alex Pendlebury and the Deputy Head Girls are Rachel McGuire and Eleanor Pearson. We feel they will all do a sterling job, ably supported by our senior prefect team. Congratulations to all of them!

I had the pleasure of accompanying our Year 10 pupils on their practice Duke of Edinburgh expedition this weekend (even though the group I was with got lost three times!).  They all had a fantastic time and just watching them get on so well with existing and new friendships, it reminds me that some of those friendships will last a lifetime and I hope they look back on their D of E experiences in the next 20 or 30 years with great fondness.  Their behaviour and attitude was impeccable, even when they had very sore feet and some were suffering with hay fever!  Mr Morgan does an amazing job with the D of E, ably supported by Mr Hooton, Miss Thurgood-Parkes, Mrs Nuttall, Miss Westwell, Mr Halliwell, Mr Morton, Mrs Wainwright and Mr Webster.  

Mr Cullen sent me some very impressive work from his 10R1 class on Jewish Prayer. Thanks to Alex Pendlebury and Joe Hosker, we all now know the difference between Tallit, Teffilln and the Torah!

Mr Reardon told me that Year 8 have been working really hard this week, having accumulated over 370 achievement points. It was a three-way tie for top spot this week. Congratulations to Harry Jackson, Nathan Else and Jodie Latham who were each awarded nine points throughout the week. 8W were the leading form this week with regards to ‘lates’, as they scored another perfect punctuality record. Well done!

Mrs Ainsworth told me her Year 10 BTEC Travel and Tourism pupils went to the Runway Visitor Park at Manchester Airport on Wednesday 7th June. The pupils listened to a presentation on customer service, visited Concorde and participated in a role play activity on board an aircraft where they thoroughly enjoyed being cabin crew and pilots. They also became avid plane spotters, watching planes taking off and landing. It was a great day and the pupils were impeccably behaved - well done to all involved.

Miss Gallagher has sent me the Term 3A Chatterbox Champion details; congratulations to the following students:

Year 7
Jake Southworth, Daniel Guest, Jackson Sturgess, Jacob Davies, Corey Griffiths, Jake McClymont, Jamie Bretherton, Molly Fisher, Joshua Hunter, Reece Lamble, Bobby Severs and Charlotte Mulhearn
Year 8
Lewis Bowles, Nathan Hilton, James Kearney, Tyler Jones, Maisie Rafferty, Heidi Doherty, Jacob Blears, Jack Ainscough and Ellie Garside
Year 9 
Chloe Lynch, Josh Dunne, James Woods, Jacob Walker, Chris Bache, Antonia Pye and Lucy Almond
Year 10
Morgan Young, Adam Lavin and Will Hewitt
Lucky Dip
James Gaskell, Fraya Walker, Dan Ratcliffe and Jacob Davies

Brilliant work, well done to all involved.


Posted by Mrs G Taylor on 19 June 2017

Category: Headteacher's blog